About Us

Formed in 1997, the Australian Nuclear Free Alliance (formerly the Alliance Against Uranium) brings together Aboriginal people and relevant civil society groups concerned about existing or proposed nuclear developments in Australia, particularly on Aboriginal homelands.

The Alliance provides a forum for sharing of knowledge, skills and experience. It is an opportunity to come together and find strength through our shared aims to protect country and culture from nuclear developments. The Alliance helped to build the successful campaign to stop the Jabiluka uranium mine in the Northern Territory, and more recently, proposed national nuclear waste dumps in South Australia and Muckaty in the NT. Currently, Aboriginal communities face a wave of uranium exploration, rehabilitation and remediation of former mine sites, several proposed new uranium mines, and a proposed national nuclear waste dump.


ANFA Committee 2019-2021

(note: as the global pandemic restricted meetings in 2020 and 2021 of our national network, ANFA Committee has agreed to continue until the next national meeting)

Honorary Presidents

  • Aunty Sue Coleman Haseldine – Kokatha Mula
  • Uncle Kevin Buzzacott – Arabana

ANFA Co-Chairs

  • Dwayne Coulthard – Kokatha
  • Vicky Abdullah – Tjiwarl

Northern Territory

  • Simon Junior Nabarnardi – Mirarr
  • Kirsten Blair – Gundjeihmi Aboriginal Corporation (GAC)

South Australia

  • Aunty Sue Coleman-Haseldine – Kokatha Mula (co-president)
  • Uncle Kevin Buzzacott – Arabana (co-president)
  • Dwayne Coulthard – Kokatha
  • Mia Haseldine – Kokatha
  • Leslie Coulthard – Adnyamathanha
  • Bonny Brody – Mirning Ngarrindjeri
  • Bessie-Mae Taylor – Googatha Mula
  • Tadhg Porter – Australian Student Environment Network
  • Jim Green – Friends of the Earth


  • Lavanya Pant – Friends of the Earth
  • Dave Sweeney – Australian Conservation Foundation (ACF)
  • Dimity Hawkins – International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN)


  • June Norman – Footprints for Peace


  • Trish Frail – Ngemba
  • Natalie Wasley – Beyond Nuclear Initiative (BNI)
  • Winata Peru/Karina Vennonen – Beyond Nuclear ACT
  • Gem Romuld – International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN)

Western Australia

  • Vicky Abdullah (co-chair) – Tjiwarl
  • KA Garlick – CCWA
  • Claire Anderson – Friends of the Earth

Australian Nuclear Map